Sports: Another trophy for Danny Cowley as Lincoln City boss is named League Two Manager of the Year

Sports: Another trophy for Danny Cowley as Lincoln City boss is named League Two Manager of the Year

More exciting sports news from around Lincolnshire…

Danny Cowley has been crowned LMA League Two Manager of the Year.

The Lincoln City boss picked up the accolade as the League Managers’ Association held their annual awards in London last night.

Cowley was the obvious winner for the award after leading the Imps to the League Two title, finishing six points ahead of second-placed Bury.

The LMA League One Manager of the Year award went to Luton’s Mick Harford – the former Imps striker – who stepped down from his caretaker role at the end of the season, with Graeme Jones set to take charge.

Sheffield United boss Chris Wilder was named LMA Manager of the Year, with Manchester City boss Pep Guardiola confirmed as Premier League Manager of the Year.

Guardiola topped the vote ahead of Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp, Tottenham manager Mauricio Pochettino and Nuno Espirito Santo of Wolves after votes from the public were combined with those of a panel of football experts to decide the winner.

Wilder, though, was chosen as the recipient of the LMA Sir Alex Ferguson trophy, an accolade voted for by managers across all the divisions, after leading the Blades to the Premier League after finishing second in the Championship.

“To be voted for by your peers to get this award is just unbelievable and caps off an incredible season for me and everybody at Sheffield United,” said Wilder after collecting the award from the former Manchester United boss.

“I would like to think we have struck a blow for recruitment, training ground, teaching and all the other stuff which goes on behind the scenes – there is no cheque book culture.”

Sheffield United manager Chris Wilder celebrates promotion
Sheffield United manager Chris Wilder celebrates promotion
(Image: PA)

Wilder, who took over the Blades when they were in League One, added: “It just shows you this can happen, it is dreams, inspiration for everybody.

“There is a pathway through for all of us and hopefully it has shown the way for everybody else.”

Meanwhile, Arsenal boss Joe Montemurro was named the FA Women’s Super League Manager of the Year, while Karen Hills of Tottenham received the FA Women’s Championship award.


Outgoing Premier League executive chairman Richard Scudamore was given the LMA’s Special Recognition Award, having recently stood down following 19 years in the role.

John Still was presented with the LMA’s Special Achievement Award following his long career which included spells at the likes of Dagenham & Redbridge, Peterborough, Barnet and Luton.

The LMA Service to Football Award went to Pat Godbold of Ipswich.


Source by [author_name]

Site Hosted and Maintained by HostBanquet - Lincolnshires Own Hosting Provider